The Vichy Government - White Elephant

White Elephant

The Vichy Government

Format Price Buy
White Elephant £5.00


The Vichy Government - White Elephant

CD Album in Card Wallet


1. Death Of A Mummy's Boy
2. The Exterminating Angel Of Greek Street
3. The Greatest Gift Of All
4. I'm Your Pimp
5. The Dog, The Divorcee And Me
6. Winter Forever
7. Joseph Losey
8. Little Fishes
9. Picnic At Dzerzhinsk
10. Abusive Childhood Narrative
11. Tristana
12. My Mail-Order Bride
13. Poor Little Chelsea Fan
14. Fatalism (Tesmaid Forks A)
15. Amnesia Day
16. Memo From Turner
17. We Have An Open Relationship
18. The Teams That Meet In The Blue Legume


2008; the age of Oyster cards, self-service supermarket tills and 5p flights to Singapore. The Internet is everywhere, diffused through the air, as ubiquitous and as ready as oxygen. All music is free and all music is available on tap. No matter how rare, you can find it in seconds and you can save it onto your hard drive along with the other 500,000 songs in your music library. If you really like it, you'll probably choose to put it on your mobile phone and force fifty total strangers to listen to a tinny, distorted version of it, whether they wish to or not. New albums, like soggy, boot-printed copies of Metro on the floor of your bus home, have a clearly defined shelf life of 24 hours. You can make your own music on your laptop too; and everybody who can, does. They sign up to Myspace; their recordings are seashells on a beach, needles in a haystack. Radiohead try to give away their new album. We're still not remotely interested. All music is free and all music is worthless.

We too have had our nostrils fouled by the stench of 2008. We tried to think of ways that we could combat it, and put a small grain of integrity back into the role of the artist. But we couldn't think of any, so we decided to have our petty bit of revenge by adding our own little bit of stench into everybody else's nostrils. Thus was White Elephant, the third Vichy Government album, born.